Situated in Oberlin’s Martin Luther King, Jr. Park at the intersection of Pleasant and Vine Streets, this stunning memorial is the work of Oberlin artist, the Paul Beaver Arnold, Oberlin College’s Eva and John Young-Hunter Professor of Art (1940-1985)
Each year, community members gather at this spot to commemorate and honor the life and legacy of Dr. King.
This building had many uses before it was given in 1933 to Oberlin College. A year later, the college donated it to the Oberlin schools and it was used until about 1950 as a grammar school and space for The Oberlin Kindergarten Training School. Eventually the training school became a part of Oberlin College. The building was torn down in 1965.
Note: the original building had a second floor which was determined to be unsafe and was removed circa 1919.